Summer of Friends

It’s been a tough year for many people.  Personally, I know I wouldn’t have gotten through it without the support of my friends.  But I know that some friends aren’t always the friends you hoped they would be.  A year or two ago I made some tough choices about what friends I wanted in my life.  I only have a handful of people I’d call friends right now, but I look forward to meeting more people like my friends and growing friendships with them.

So where can you find people to be friends?  One of my friends I met in elementary school, another I met in church and a third I met on Twitter.  Personally, I love having friends I can sit and have a cup of coffee with, just as much as I love tweeting with my friend in California.  The blessing of social media (Twitter, Facebook and the like) is that you aren’t restricted to just the selection of people in your local area only, you’ve got the whole world at your fingertips.   Although, you may be surprised with the awesome people that you never knew lived just a few minutes away.

The second question that must be addressed is what makes a friendship a good one?  Personally, I’d rather have a couple of true friends, than friends that make me feel tired, pissed, frustrated, gossipy, fake or like someone I’m not.  Ending a friendship is never easy, but sometimes it’s one of the best things you can do.  When I made the decision that I would spend as much time with those who I feel healthy and whole with, and as little as possible with others, immediately it gave me the freedom to be who I am, embrace whatever the future holds for me and spend more time giving back to the world and less stressing out.

That being said, a good friendship will vary depending on what you need in a friend.  You may need someone you can call when your kids are sick and you need a nap, someone who will go out for coffee with you in your fancy clothes after a long day at work, or someone you can message or tweet a prayer or prayer request to as needed.    Friends are honest, loving, caring, supportive, responsible, reliable, trustworthy, authentic, real, fun, helpful and so many more things

Let this summer be an opportunity for you to be a better friend.  What will you do to become a better friend?  I invite you to ask questions and share your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

