Whole Living: Forgiveness

We’re talking about forgiveness this month on my blogs, Twitter and Facebook, why?   Because forgiveness is a big aspect of whole living.  When you don’t open your heart and mind to the concept of forgiveness, you’re limiting the life you can have, I’m not even talking about the other person.  If you want to live a whole life, you’ll have to learn to live with forgiveness.  If you’re not sure about forgiveness, check out what these wise individuals had to say:

“Forgiveness is the giving, and so the receiving, of life.” George MacDonald

“Forgiveness is giving up the possibility of a better past.” Unknown

“When you forgive, you in no way change the past – but you sure do change the future.” Bernard Meltzer

I don’t know about you, but I’m not about to let the pains of the past limit my future.  It may mean some discomfort now, but if I really want to live in the future, make an impact with my life and truly love and enjoy life, I’ve got to accept forgiveness’s place in life.  Even if you and I were to be absolutely perfect for the rest of our lives, never screwing up and needing to be forgiven, chances are very good with 6 or 7 billion people on the planet with us, one of those people will screw up and need forgiveness before the world ends.

The past does have a purpose, as do the pains.  Everything has a place and purpose in the past, but the past is not the future.  I don’t want my past to be my future so I’m going to do my best to ask for and give forgiveness to those in my life.

What about you?  Which is more important to you?  Your past or your future?

Leave a Reply

