Focus on Faith

This  month we’re talking about faith.  It’s not an easy topic for a lot of people, many have lost their faith in the government, have been hurt by a church or spiritual group or have experienced something in their life that made them lose or question their faith.  I have had some of those same experiences, yet I still believe that having faith is important.  There are 3 main areas where we will be focusing on faith this month:

Faith in Something Bigger:
Personally, it’s a belief in God.  I have faith that He’s working things out in my life and the lives of those around me.  Having faith in something bigger than me gives me the strength to get through the tough days, work through my failures and have hope that there’s something better in the future.

Faith in myself:
The past few years have really taken a toll on everyone’s self esteem and self confidence.  It’s hard to get out of bed when you know there’s no job for you to go to, and probably no one going to call you about any of the 20 resumes you submitted yesterday.  So we’ve all got the choice to rebuild our lives based on different beliefs and build an image of ourselves not based on the things in our lives.  I believe I can do anything I put my mind to.  I believe you can too.

Faith in each other:
The past few years have reinforced the need to be a community.  A few weeks ago a US Marine from my little town was killed in Afghanistan.  The response from the town and surrounding community has been incredible.  We’ve all come together to support and love the family who lost their son and brother.  It’s unfortunate that tragedy usually is what brings people together, but I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to be part of this community coming together, and it has reinforced my faith in others.

My encouragement to you this month is that you wouldn’t view faith as a strictly spiritual topic, but you would open your heart and see how you can increase your faith in yourself and in others.  I know if we all believed in each other the world would be a better place.  If you’d like more thoughts on the topic of faith, I’m posting on my Life & Spirituality blog every day this month and I’d love for you to join me.

2 thoughts on “Focus on Faith

  1. Sounds like a great focus for the month, Laura. I’d love to contribute. I’m speaking at the end of April on Strengths in our Weaknesses and I think something from that topic would fit nicely in any of those three areas. I’ll pray about what focus to have in it….

Leave a Reply

