Thousands of Thank You’s

“. . . my obsession with gratefulness. I can’t stop… I’m actually muttering to myself, ‘Thank you. . .thank you. . . thank you.’ It’s an odd way to live. But also kind of great and powerful. I’ve never before been so aware of the thousands of little good things, the thousands of things that go right every day.”  A.J. Jacobs

I’ve talked over and over about how each and every one of us have a choice to make each and every second of the day.  It’s always my hope that you choose to make the conscious choice for good and not for bad, to choose the best for yourself and others, not just the easiest, to choose to be thankful rather than greedy.  Life is all about the choices we do or don’t make.

As we stand on the precipice of a new year we’ve got choices to make: will I choose to be the same person I was in 2013 in 2014?  Will I choose to love my family more and spend more time with them?  Will I look for ways to improve the world or hurt it?  Will I choose to make this my best year yet or just get by?  Will I choose this year to be more thankful for the people in my life, who they are and what they do for me?

What if being more thankful was all that it took to significantly improve your life?

The hardest part of all of this is how unconscious or subconscious our lives have gotten.  We’re not as conscious about our blessing of electricity until there’s a big storm and the power goes out.  We’re not as conscious of our partner’s amazing talents around the house until they’re working double shifts.  We’re not cognizant of our health until we’re struggling.  As we step forward into 2014 together I encourage you to make this the year of open eyes and ears.  Let’s be thankful together.

Leave a Reply

