The Power of “No”

I say “no” to potential clients on a daily basis.  Yes, I’m serious.   No, I’m not independently and permanently wealthy, so if I was in business just for the money I wouldn’t be turning them down. I have standards and requirements when it comes to who I agree to work with.

I do have a bit of a helper complex; I like to help people fix things.  It’s a big part of who I am.  While I might fantasize about what the world would be like if everyone were “helped”, I do know it’s not realistic.  And in starting this business I made it a point to work with clients who remind me what I love about the world, not the not so great stuff in it.

So I say “no”.  And you know what?  It makes me feel good and terrible at the same time.  I don’t like turning down a potential sale, I don’t like not helping someone, but knowing I don’t have to deal with their high-and-mighty attitude, overbearing personality, and control freak nature makes it worth it.  I don’t need to work with everyone, just those who genuinely have a heart to thrive in business and do their part to impact the world.

“I found developing the ability to say no expanded my ability to say yes and really mean it.” Susan Gregg

Saying no to things that don’t make me happy, don’t help me fulfill the mission and vision I have for my business, aren’t things I’m very skilled at, or things that I don’t feel comfortable doing allow me to excel at doing the things I do enjoy.  Saying no gives me the opportunity to help more people get clear about who they are and what they’re here on earth to be doing.  Good leaders know how to say no so they can say yes to things that not only help their bottom line, but are best for all people involved.

This week I encourage you to say no to things that don’t feel right, things that aren’t right for your company, and things that make you less of a person or leader.  It’s important to have standards, you’ve got a right to enforce them too.  What have you said no to lately?

Leave a Reply

