You’re a Dreamer

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” Harriet Tubman

I haven’t met many kids who don’t have a dream of some kind.  They may be too young to recognize it as a dream as we know it, like those who get up in the morning and put on superhero capes and don’t take them off all day, but they’re dreams nonetheless.  As we grew up we too had dreams, but along the way many of us have realized that our dreams weren’t realistic or didn’t fit who we truly were (I always wanted to be a nurse or doctor, but I’ve got no true talent or gifting in those areas).  The beauty of that is we can always dream new dreams.

Like many of those my age, I’ve had to change my dreams many times.  The job I should have gotten when I graduated college that would stay with me to my retirement days was never going to happen; the world had become a different place.  I still don’t have all the answers, but I’m realizing that it’s not only time, it’s necessary to dream again.

You see, what kids know and we often forget, is that it’s those dreams and fantasies that bring that special sparkle to our eyes, the little bit of a skip in our step, the glow that makes people look at us twice.  Don’t deny it: you’ve seen a kid in the past week or two that’s been so in love with life that you just had to smile, right?  As Harriet Tubman, one of the bravest women in history, pointed out, you can have that at any time you want.  It’s just up to you to draw it up from deep within you.

I know that life is full of experiences: some are good and some are bad.  However, we can all learn something from them, and we all do.  But what we don’t all do is learn the lessons and move on as a stronger, better, smarter person.  Instead, many of us let those bad experiences damage us.  To be sure you can’t get through a tough experience without a few scars, but how you see those scars and the world around you as a result of those scars is the differentiating factor.

Today I encourage you to take hold of the courage and wisdom of Harriet Tubman and choose to change your world.

Leave a Reply

