Fitness Focus

For the next few weeks we’re going to be talking about health, starting this week with physical health. Personally, I’ve always been a walker. I love biking and the occasional run, but walking is what I enjoy most. It’s my speed and allows me to really enjoy all that goes on in our very busy world while I exercise. I love being able to catch the little signs of spring life and see how things change and age over the years (or maybe that’s just me).

Like many other things the motivation to do something in the way of exercise has to start with some enjoyment. I wouldn’t want to do any exercising if you told me the only thing I could do was kickboxing. I’d sleep in, get extra clients and do whatever I could to avoid it. Ask me if I want to take a walk and I’ll go grab shoes and sunglasses. The old adage about knowing what you like and following through is true. You’re much more likely to stick with something and excel at it if you enjoy it.

You’ve probably seen the commercials with the line “a body at rest tends to stay at rest/a body in motion tends to stay in motion”. So many people gain weight for so many different reasons, this being only one of them. Less people would avoid exercise if they didn’t dread it, or feel judged by others at the gym for only going to walk on the treadmill or doing a yoga class. Our feelings about others certainly lead to how much or little we exercise.

However, speak with many senior citizens and they’ll tell you they wish they weren’t stuck in wheelchairs and unable to walk, and their sedentary lifestyle contributed to that situation. They may have gone on great adventures when they were younger, but when their grandchildren now want to run and play they can’t keep up. Don’t let life outrun you because you can’t keep pace.

“Leave all the afternoon for exercise and recreation, which are as necessary as reading. I will rather say more necessary because health is worth more than learning.” Thomas Jefferson

Leave a Reply

