The Possibility of Something More

I’ve talked before about the importance of the choices we make in our lives.  One I find people the most resistant to is a change of perspective.  People, myself included, can get so wrapped into a corner that we forget that there is so much more to the world than we remember.  The most vicious of rejections happen when we refuse to open our minds or eyes to the fact that there is something else in the world, something we are neglecting or don’t want to see.  It is in these moments that we limit our potential success and doom ourselves and those in our lives to a much less meaningful and potentially more dangerous life.  It’s these blind spots that have allowed cultures around the world to be destroyed and decimated before anyone spoke out or did anything to help.

On a much smaller scale this is what we do when we meet someone and let out initial impressions create our only accepted opinions of that person.  In doing this we destroy the amazing possible teamwork that could have happened if we hadn’t made a snap judgment.  It’s only when we take time to consider and learn about the situation that we can truly make informed decisions about what our choice should be.

One of the best things that ever happened in my life was having my mind opened to the reality that there is more than what we see going on around us.  I’m not an expert, but I know that somewhere beneath the chair I sit in as I write this there are bugs going about their business, and below them are rocks, and below that in the very core of the earth it’s really hot.  If I were able to keep going I’d come out on the opposite side of the world and maybe find someone else sitting in a chair right there like I am.  The fact is without acknowledging that there is more to the world than I can see my world is a lot smaller and less interesting than it is because I’ve opened myself to the knowledge that there is more.

Choosing to limit your knowledge and perspective doesn’t just hurt you, it can hurt many others around you.  The longer we ignore the things going on in the world the worse they will get.  Ignoring things has never been a positive or helpful solution.  Are you inexorably set in your knowledge and ways or can you find the freedom to open yourself to the possibility of something more?

“From birth, man carries the weight of gravity on his shoulders. He is bolted to earth. But man has only to sink beneath the surface and he is free.” Jacques Yves Cousteau

Leave a Reply

