Grandparents are Great

Sunday is National Grandparents Day. It’s the day we celebrate the grandparents in our lives that are special and mean so much to us. Grandparents play a really important role in the lives of grandkids. I can remember growing up and the begging and pleading I did with my parents to let my brother and I go and visit and stay with my dad’s parents. They lived a few hours away from us and were close to the beach and it meant some awesome independence for my brother and I.

I loved those special summer weeks at my grandparents.   But it was more than just the chance to be away from my parents, my grandparents were really cool too. My grandmother always had yummy cookies and we would go run her errands together, my grandfather always had funny jokes and stories to share, and he was just one of those people you just wanted to sit there and watch and do what he did.

Even more than that, they loved me for me. They were OK with me wanting to read or preferring one type of chip over another or my staying and getting up late. They taught me a lot but never that I couldn’t or shouldn’t make my own choices and be my own person. And that is one of the best gifts a grandparent, a parent, or anyone can give a child.

If you’re blessed enough to be a grandparent as awesome as mine were and your grandparents are still living I encourage you to take time this week to reach out to them and tell them how much they mean to you. You never know when the day will come that you won’t have that chance anymore.

“What children need most are the essentials that grandparents provide in abundance. They give unconditional love, kindness, patience, humor, comfort, lessons in life. And, most importantly, cookies.” Rudy Giuliani

Leave a Reply

