A Happy Christmas

What if I were to tell you, on this Monday just over 2 weeks before Christmas that for Christmas you could be happy?  Would you laugh?  Tell me I was joking?  Think I’d had two too many eggnogs?  What if it was the truth?  This is something that I’ve been tossing around in my head for the past 6 months or so, really trying to understand teachings like The Secret, and teachers like Jesus, and how these things have worked to bring happiness and peace to so many people supposedly.

Growing up I related to Eeyore not Tigger, Sleepy not Happy, and the women of Disney stories and fairy tales who didn’t live these perfect lives but had challenges to overcome.  I never felt like life was all that and a box of chocolates.  I had a great childhood  but I wasn’t a glass half full person.  It took years of learning about myself and learning to accept myself before I could begin to see all that life has to offer.

I’ve learned over some challenging past few years that I’ve got a lot more to learn about who I am and even more work to do to accept who I am.  That’s one of the hardest challenges we all face: accepting who we are, what we need and our contribution to the world.  So what does all this have to do with being happy for Christmas?

I’ve learned that if I want to be happy the first step is my attitude.  If I choose to be unhappy I will be. If I choose to be happy I have to change my attitude and belief towards the world to see it as a place with potential, hope and opportunity, rather than someplace not so great with a bunch of people who will screw me over at ever chance they get.  No, that attitude won’t fix every situation, but it will go a long way towards empowering me to be able to make decisions that will set me up for a good future and not one that I will be unhappy with.

So this Christmas if you want to be happy, start choosing today to accept yourself for who you are and what you need.  Choose to accept that others for who they are as well.  Make the decision that unless you choose to stay miserable you don’t have to be.  What will you choose today?

“If you want to be happy, be.” Leo Tolstoy

Leave a Reply

