Finding Your Happiness

This month we’ve talked about an important topic: choosing to live. Each of us are given a number of days to live here on earth. Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, your time in this form is limited. Each day, even each minute, we make choices about what we want to do with the time we do have. I don’t believe that every minute needs to be filled to absolute capacity, we need some time to rest and enjoy, but I do believe that most of us aren’t living our lives to even close to our potential.

Our potential is something that can only be discovered and truly fulfilled if we know and accept who we are. I can certainly do all kinds of awesome things like African safaris, cruise the world or read science fiction books, but those things wouldn’t make me truly happy or fulfilled. It’s not that they’re not fun or amazing experiences, or good books, they’re just not what motivates me to get up in the morning and makes me want to share with the world.

What makes my heart beat isn’t what makes yours beat, and that’s the way it should be. We’re each different and that’s what makes the world great. It’s also what makes the world run as well as it does. While it’s not perfect if I were trying to do everything all by myself we’d have a much less amazing and functional world. My “job” in life isn’t to do or be perfect in everything, it’s to be the best and do the best with what I can do and do love. What are you passionate about? What makes your life great?

“To live is to choose. But to choose well, you must know who you are and what you stand for, where you want to go and why you want to get there.” Kofi Annan

Leave a Reply

