Leading Until the Bitter End

Leaders have a very important role in life, whether it be at home, in school, in the government, in the faith community, or in business.  There are tons of different kinds of leaders, and all are necessary in making the world go ’round.  Why?  Because one leader can’t do it all.  Yes, it can be helpful to have a top leader like a president or king or CEO, but all of those leaders have other leaders who work under them: they don’t have time to do everything, and if they did they’d be wasting their valuable leadership abilities.  And even more important is something that’s kind of seen as a dirty secret: they don’t know everything.  Gasp!

As a business consultant and life coach I get asked lots of questions.  And most days there’s at least one question asked of me that I don’t have the answer to.  Yes, I’m being totally honest: I don’t know everything.  In fact, I’m willing to admit that to everyone and anyone and often do.  Some people are mad that I don’t know everything and can’t be or do everything for them.  But you know what? I’m totally OK with not knowing, being, or doing everything.  That’s not my job.  My job is to be the best I can at what I do.  Sometimes that means learning things so I can be of service, other times that means passing them on to someone else who can do/know/be what I can’t.

So what’s the lesson here?  Don’t stand in your way or anyone else’s way because you feel the need to be everything for everyone.  Be confident in who you are and don’t try to be anything else.  When you try to do or be more than you are you not only could run into problems for yourself, you could hold your client/family member/friend/congregant/student/constituent back from becoming all they can be.  I encourage you this week to make choices as a wise leader that are empowering to everyone, not just look out for the few.

“Leaders should lead as far as they can and then vanish. Their ashes should not choke the fire they have lit.”  H. G. Wells

Leave a Reply

