The Path of Goals

This week I read a blog post that partly talked about the goals of having a blog. I love writing, it’s something I’ve done for many years (even before I started my blogs), but I know it’s not something that everyone likes. I do believe that having a blog and/or a newsletter that you send out on a weekly (or more frequent) basis can be a valuable part of your marketing strategy. It’s one of the best ways to consistently remind your clients and customers that you exist as a business and that you’re there any time they’re in need of what you offer. But what I really want to talk about today is the topic of goals.

We all have goals even if we don’t write them down or say them out loud. What the blog post reminded me was that there are about a dozen reasons why someone may start a blog or goals that they may have with it. Just because one of my reasons is because I like to write, and just because I have more of a goal of using the blogs to share my experience and expertise it doesn’t mean it has to be your reason or goal. It also means that we won’t all have the same purpose or goal in business, or in an aspect of business like social media for example. You may use social media to connect with others, while someone else may use it to look popular.

So what can we learn from all this? First that we’re not all in a line moving in the same direction. We didn’t all start our businesses at the same time, some have been around for hundreds of years while yours may be a few days old. Second, don’t be ashamed of your goals and dreams. It’s not bad to want different things from your businesses and for your customers, that’s part of what makes the world go ’round. Third, don’t let your excuses and what other people are doing stop you from achieving your goals. Make a plan for how you can accomplish your goals; do the research, figure out what actions are necessary, try things and don’t give up.

Leave a Reply

