Exploring the World

Summer is coming up in just about a week, can you believe it?  When I think about summer the first thing that comes to my mind is the outdoors.  The second, of course is the end of school for the year.  I can remember what a relief it was to be done and on break for a couple of months and able to enjoy myself again.  I didn’t hate school and I wasn’t bad at it, I just preferred not learning my lessons in classrooms while filling in workbooks.  There are so many ways to learn and not everyone learns the same way.   One of the best ways to learn I think is to get out in the world and see it and/or experience it.  Thanks to technology we’re able to explore the world even from the comforts of home if we don’t have the finances to physically go to places.

One of the things that captivates me the most when it comes to exploring are the natural wonders around the world.  I’m always tempted to click the links to videos and sites about dogs, penguins, bobcats, and other animals like Explore, and I always get sucked in to checking out the photos on the Weather Channel and other sites of gorgeous natural places and of nature taking over what we man have created.  There’s just something about nature that captivates me.

This summer I encourage you to take time with your kids to get outdoors.  Check out some Rail Trails, visit some National Parks (and not just the famous ones), take a bike ride through a park, or just get outside and sit with a cool drink.  Take time with your kids, with your partner and by yourself to see the natural world that surrounds us on a regular basis and appreciate what we have while we have it.  Summer is synonymous with so many of us taking a break from our usual days and doing something else or just taking time off, and with exploring the world we live in.  Make sure you really take that break this summer and spend some of that time off in nature.  What will you explore this summer?

“Study nature, love nature, stay close to nature. It will never fail you.” Frank Lloyd Wright

Leave a Reply

