Living with Love

As I was driving and contemplating life today this song, “From The Ground Up” by DAN + SHAY came on the radio (you can listen to it here):

“Grandma and grandpa painted a picture of 65 years
And one little house
More than a memory
More than saying I do
Kiss you goodnight’s and I love you’s

Me and you baby, walk in the footsteps
Build our own family
One day at a time
Ten little toes, a painted pink room
Our beautiful baby looks just like you

And we’ll build this love from the ground up
Now ’til forever it’s all of me, all of you
Just take my hand
And I’ll be the man your dad hoped that I’d be

And we’ll build this love from the ground up
For worse or for better
And I will be all you need
Beside you I’ll stand through the good and the bad
We’ll give all that we have
And we’ll build this love from the ground up

This life will go by
In the blink of an eye
But I wouldn’t wanna spend it without you by my side
The clouds are gonna roll
The earth’s gonna shake
But I’ll be your shelter through the wind and the rain…

Someday we’ll wake up
With thousands of pictures
65 years in this little house
I won’t trade for nothing, the life that we built
I’ll kiss you goodnight and say I love you still…”

This song is an invitation for those in relationships, as well as all of us, to love through thick and thin and learn to work together.  Sometimes there is no better choice than to agree to disagree and go your separate ways.  But often full separation isn’t an option, especially if you have kids or work together.  The song is a reminder that life does include its challenges and that we won’t be able to escape all of them.  The choice we have is in how we face our challenges.  Do we choose to do it with people to support us through them, or do we choose to try and go it alone?  We can choose who we love, who we allow in our lives, who we build our lives with, and what we do with our lives.  I’d much rather work towards an awesome future with people I enjoy being with and who enjoy being with me, wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

