Due Diligence

As a business owner I get asked lots of questions about what I offer. I make a point of doing my very best to answer all questions before people even think of talking with me because it’s always easier and cheaper to not have to talk with people, but to just make the sale. I always try to make sure my marketing and sales descriptions are as clear as possible and make it as easy for people to understand as possible so there’s no confusion, because there’s at least a 50% chance that if someone is confused they’ll leave and not make a purchase no matter how perfect that product or service would be for them rather than ask.

Every so often though I get someone who says something like ‘this is what I want, you will deliver that, right?’ after making the purchase, or someone who says “I’m not sure what you sell but here’s the money” or worst “I thought you were going to do/provide X” after the sale has been completed and the service/product delivered. Fortunately these people aren’t the majority, but they always make an impression when they pop up.

What amazes me about these people is that they’re willing to put down money assuming that the business will deliver what they want because they want it, or they put down money without even knowing what they’re ordering. There are two things I want to highlight today: your responsibility and theirs.

Your job, as I’ve already mentioned, is to be as helpful in your communications as possible.  If there aren’t any words on the page, if there isn’t an explainer video, how can they possibly know what you sell?  And just saying “I sell life insurance” or “I do construction” or “I sell jewelry” or “I create websites” or “I deliver food” isn’t very helpful.  It gives people a very basic idea, yes, but to know if they want to choose you to provide that service or product for them there has to be more detail provided, and that’s your job.  In just about every situation there is plenty of room for you to provide the necessary info and answer typical questions.

Their responsibility is to read or listen what’s there.  If you don’t take the time to read what you’re buying, shame on you!  It’s completely unnecessary in this day and age (and irresponsible) to make a purchase without knowing what you’re getting. People go to great lengths to put up details because they want their customers to be happy.  I can’t understand why you wouldn’t listen to or read the details provided before making a purchase, especially if you expect to be pleased with your purchase.

So this week I do encourage you to check out your descriptions and make sure they’re helpful, and when you go to make a purchase make sure that you know what you’re buying before putting down any money.

“Due diligence is the practice of confirming that what you are getting is what you think you are getting.” Dr Henry Cloud

Leave a Reply

